Australia won ICC Women’s T20 World Cup title for fifth time


Melbourne Australia made the trophy for the fifth time after defeating India by 85 runs in the final of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup here on Sunday, thanks to a brilliant bowling led by Megan Scutt after half-centuries from openers Beth Mooney and Alyssa Healy. The Australian team reached the final for the sixth time in a match played on International Women’s Day. Earlier, he won the title in 2010, 2012, 2014, 2018 while in 2016 he lost to the West Indies in the final.

Australia won the toss at the MCG, batting, scoring 184 for four with half-centuries from Mooney (78 not out) and Healy (75 runs). After this, his bowlers bowled out the Indian team for just 99 runs in 19.1 overs, which reached its final for the first time.

For Australia, Megan Scutt took four wickets for 18 runs in 3.1 overs and Jeff Jonassen took three wickets for 20 runs in four overs. Sophie Molineux, Delissa Kimmins and Nicola Cara took one wicket each. The Indian team made it to the title match as they topped the group stage after the first semi-final against England was canceled by rain.

The Indian team, which defeated Australia in the opening match of the tournament, could not cope with the pressure today and the top order crumble broke their hopes of winning their first title. Only four batsmen could reach double-digit scores, with Deepti Sharma scoring the top scorer with 33 runs.

Top-order batsmen Shefali Verma (02), Smriti Mandhana (11), Jemima Rodrigues (zero) and captain Harmanpreet Kaur (04) returned to the pavilion in six overs. At the same time, wicketkeeper Tania Bhatia retired in the second over. Spinner Jess Jonassen had the ball on his helmet. Australian bowlers continued to bowl wickets at frequent intervals. Apart from Deepti Sharma, only Veda Krishnamurthy (19) and ‘concession’ substitute Richa Ghosh (14) could muster a few runs and the entire team was reduced to 99 runs.

Earlier, Healy and Mooney played half-century innings, taking advantage of life-giving and helped Australia to a challenging score of 184 for four.

Mooney remained the top scorer but Heely made headlines by playing a 75-run innings, whose catch was dropped by Shefali Verma on the fifth ball of the innings (over Deepti Sharma). Both of them scored runs around the field on Indian bowlers. He hit seven fours and five sixes during his 39-ball innings. Healy and Mooney gave Australia a brilliant start by sharing 115 runs for the first wicket in 11.5 overs, winning the toss and deciding to bat. Like Heely, Mooney also took advantage of the opportunity to miss the catch. In the fourth over, Rajeshwari Gayavkad missed a chance to take her catch with her ball, which led to her half-century off 41 balls.

Mooney made 10 boundaries during his 54-ball unbeaten innings. Despite losing to India in the first match, defending champions Australia entered the final as strong contenders. The team led by Meg Lanning performed to fame and Healy blasted the Indian attack with the first ball. Healy’s brilliant innings came to an end in the 12th over when she was caught by Veda Krishnamurthy for a long on boundary off left-arm spinner Radha Yadav. After Healey was dismissed, Mooney played responsibly with captain Lanning adding 39 runs. After this, India kept pressure for a while after Deepti took two wickets in the 17th over.

Lanning (06) was caught by Shikha Pandey on the second ball while Ashley Gardner was stumped by Tania Bhatia after three balls. Rachel Haynes (04) was bowled by Poonam Yadav in the 19th over. Mooney continued to play responsibly and was unbeaten with Nikola Kare (05 not out). Both brought Australia closer to 190 runs. India’s spinners Deepti (2 for 38), Radha Yadav (1 for 34) and Poonam Yadav (1 for 30) did well to stop Australia within 200 runs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here